The Department of Earth and Space Science, Graduate School of Science of Osaka University, is a unique department established in 1995, aimed at developing a new horizon in the research and education of earth and space science from a physics-based perspective. The principal goals of our departmentfs research activities are to understand the extreme state of matter in space, including even life, and to decipher the many diverse phenomena which occur in space, the planets and the Earth.

The Department of Earth and Space Science consists of four major research areas: (1) Astrophysics and Planetary Science, (2) Earth and Planetary Material Sciences, (3) Extreme Material Science, and (4) Life Science. Related disciplines also covered are theoretical astrophysics, X-ray astrophysics, infrared astronomy, planetary science, geophysics, theoretical and experimental condensed-matter physics, and biophysics. A total of 28 students enroll each year for the Master's Program and 13 for the Doctoral Program.

Our department focuses on fundamental physics as the basis of the earth and space science. This is why we aim to conduct research and education in close collaboration with the Department of Physics at the Graduate School of Science. Our department is always open to talented researchers and students from a wide variety of fields, from physics to astronomy, geophysics, geology, mineralogy, biology, and engineering. Our aim is to go beyond the traditional framework of science and develop a new frontier of interdisciplinary science, while at the same time construct a new, integrated style of the earth and space science. We see our research leading to new perspectives from which to approach the environmental problems the earth faces in the 21st century, and question of the origins of life on earth. Our ultimate aim is to facilitate developments that will change our lives for the better.


  • 1991

    Before the Department of Earth and Space Science was established in 1995, a division pursuing a similar goal was established in April 1991. The division was small, bringing together the four courses of (1) Basic Astrophysical Science, (2) Natural Materials Science, (3) Earth Materials Science, and (4) Earth Systems Science, with two entirely new courses, (5) Theoretical Astrophysical Science and (6) Extreme Material Science; it was staffed with just 6 professors, 6 associate professors and 12 research associates.

  • 1995

    Then, in April 1995, as part of an overall departmental reshuffle, it was relaunched as the Department of Earth and Space Science, having incorporated some earth science groups from the College of General Education. This is the newest of the six departments that make up the Graduate School of Science at Osaka University. Initially, its members were divided between the north block of the former College of General Education, and the south block of the former Earth and Space Science Division. In August 1995, however, the Department moved to the newly constructed Building F in the School of Science. This brought all departmental members together, and it is where the department remains today.

  • 1996

    In April 1996, the entire University was restructured to strengthen graduate education, and the Department too shifted from several smaller courses to a system with fewer, broader divisions. Now, there are four areas of core graduate research: (1) Astrophysics and Planetary Science, (2) Earth and Planetary Material Sciences, (3) Extreme Material Science, and (4) Life Science. In order to facilitate efficient and effective day-to-day research, the department has adopted a system of research groups, with each research falling under the umbrella of one of the four major research divisions. These, however, are not discrete or unchanging; they will evolve as members leave or transfer elsewhere, and are also influenced by general academic trends. Initially, there were ten research groups. The current total is eight.

Teaching Staff

Currently, research at our department is conducted by 8 research groups. Below you will find our staff directory, organized by research group. To contact staff by e-mail, please add "" after the gath mark. Details of our research activity can be found here.

Soft Matter Earth and Planetary Science Group

Room # Title Name e-mail
226 Prof. Hiroaki Katsuragi katsuragi@
310 Associate Prof. Osamu Hisatomi hisatomi@
232 Assistant Prof. Makoto Katsura mhirai@
224 Assistant Prof. Ken Yamamoto yam@

Infrared Astronomy Group

Room # Title Name e-mail
320 Prof. Takahiro Sumi sumi@
317 Associate Prof. Kento Masuda kmasuda@
315 Assistant Prof. Daisuke Suzuki dsuzuki@
303 Specially Appointed Assistant Prof. Naoki Koshimoto koshimoto@iral.

Earth and Planetary Material Science Group

Room # Title Name e-mail
328 Prof. Sho Sasaki sasakisho@
326 Associate Prof. Osamu Ohtaka ohtaka@
330 Assistant Prof. Jun Kimura junkim@

Earth and Planetary Interior Material Science Group

Room # Title Name e-mail
422 Prof. Tadashi Kondo tdskondo@
428 Associate Prof. Masayuki Nishi nishimasa@
426 Assistant Prof Tatsuhiro Sakaiya tsakaiya@

Planetary Science Group

Room # Title Name e-mail
415 Prof. Kentaro Terada terada@
210 Associate Prof. Chihiro Yamanaka yamanaka@
421 Associate Prof. Shoichiro Yokota yokota@
J3-1 Assistant Prof. Yosuke Kawai ykawai@
403 Adjunct Assistant Prof. Kohei Fukuda kfukuda@

X-Ray Astronomy Group

Room # Title Name e-mail
515 Prof. Hironori Matsumoto matumoto@
503 Associate Prof. Hirokazu Odaka odaka@

Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics Group

Room # Title Name e-mail
521 Prof. Takahiro Hatano hatano@
517 Associate Prof. Satoshi Yukawa yukawa@
523 Assistant Prof. Kazushi Aoyama aoyama@
527 Assistant Prof. Tomohiro Tanogami tanogami@

Theoretical Astrophysics Group

Room # Title Name e-mail
622 Prof. Kentaro Nagamine
614 Associate Prof. Yoshiyuki Inoue
616 Assistant Prof. Shinsuke Takasao
513 Specially Appointed Assistant Prof. Daisuke Toyouchi
611 Visiting Guest Prof. Isaac Shlosman
IRB 507 Adjunct Associate Prof. Luca Baiotti
611 Visiting Faculty Renyue Cen
611 Visiting Faculty Hiroyuki Hirashita

If e-mail addresses are listed without a domain, please add "" as the default domain name.